Education · NovElla

Back to School

The weather’s getting colder and there was a crisp breeze in the air during my run this morning. I can almost feel the leaves crunching underfoot and smell the tangy scent of apples. The start of autumn always reminds me of beginning a new school year. I still remember the excitement of getting together my notebooks and pens. Although my schooldays are over, I’ll be studying a couple more years for my job and the association is a great way to get motivated.

One of the best parts of school was the books, of course. I read some really good books in school, and I read some not-so-good books, too. What do you remember reading?

I was thrilled to be able to read The King’s Swift Rider and The Count of Monte Cristo as outside reading for one of my high school history classes. I’ve always been fond of historical fiction—just as a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down, historical fiction wraps history up in pretty paper and ties it with a bow. I love the idea of learning something while I’m having fun and historical fiction is one of the best ways ever! More and more, I wonder how much of each story is true… Now I usually research the topic after I’m done reading. However, I never do so beforehand, in case it gives away the plot!

One of the most memorable books I read in a literature class was Lincoln’s Greatest Speech: The Second Inaugural. As a fascinating work of nonfiction, it definitely stood out from anything else I’d ever read. It’s a complete analysis of Lincoln’s address, placed within the context of American history.

If you’re looking for more American historical fiction, one of my classes had us read The Scarlet Letter and The Crucible concurrently—both are worth reading.

Leave a Reply

