Banannabelle · Candy

A Gumdrop Formula

I recently took a large math exam and had to spend a lot of time studying. One of the new topics I learned about was copulas. I memorized some ludicrously long/complex formulas, like the Gumbel copula:

C(u,v) = e-[(-lnu)a + (-lnv)a]1/a

Every time I came across it, I started thinking about gumdrops… Eventually I just memorized the formula by imagining it written out in gumdrops.

Maybe there was even a Tyrannosaurus Rex that helped me memorize the Heavy Right Tail copula:

C(u,v) = u + v – 1 + [(1 – u)-1/a + (1 – v)-1/a – 1]-a    

     Tyrannosaurus Rex

…but let’s stick with gumdrops, shall we? After the exam, it was time to make gumdrops for real.

There are no candy thermometers required, so forget about your sticky, candy-making fears! This recipe is surprisingly easy and tastes fantastic.

Spearmint Gumdrops

   Spearmint Gumdrops

1 cup sugar

8 Tbsp applesauce

2 Tbsp unflavored gelatin powder

¼ tsp pure mint extract

Combine all ingredients together in a small pot and let stand for 1 minute. Boil for 1 minute while stirring constantly. Pour into a lightly greased pan (I used an 8×6-inch glass dish). Store in the refrigerator and chill for several hours, until firm. Later, loosen from the pan and cut out your gumdrops. Roll them in extra sugar to keep them from sticking together.

Even better than store bought, you can customize these gumdrops to be any flavor you want. In my second batch, I replaced the mint by squeezing in some cherry juice for delicious cherry gumdrops!

GumdropsGumdrops

There’s no need to stick to the traditional dome either. I tried all kinds of shapes.

 

Gumdrop 8

Is that 8%? I’ve definitely been studying too hard.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Gumdrop Formula

Leave a Reply

